Framework & Modules

The Submarine Academy framework consists of four areas of learning and development

The Submarine Academy covers the core engineering domains of Naval Architecture, Naval Engineering, and Combat Systems. Each domain is led by a Senior Principal Engineer who is responsible for the maintenance of professional excellence, assessment of courses, mentoring and assessing individuals, development of the Academy and nomination of delegates.


The Academy framework consists of four areas of learning and development.

  • Internal training courses (e.g. BMT submarine design course)
  • Discrete development modules (e.g. self taught with support and assessed presentation at end)
  • External training (e.g. UCL Submarine Design Course, Astute Familiarisation Course), experiential learning opportunities
  • Work secondments including waterfront placements (e.g. BAE Barrow)


The Academy currently applies the Framework over five core areas of learning, Combat Systems, Naval Architecture, Propulsion, Submarine Systems and Electrical.

To obtain an Awareness level of competence, delegates are required to complete a tailored programme of learning modules appropriate to their technical specialism.

Click the area of learning below for module details.

> Combat Systems

> Naval Architecture

> Propulsion

> Submarine Systems

> Electrical